top of page

How do PSGeans Keep Themselves Sane during Quarantine

Updated: Jun 23, 2020

By Demie Ellaine Gomez

With so much time on our hands, caused by the quarantine, people have been getting into new hobbies or maybe even old hobbies they never had the time to do. Staying sane when you're inside your homes, isolated from everyone else, and getting little to no sun and fresh air can be really difficult. But how do we, PSGeans, handle this situation?

 

1. Kirsten Mae Arada

Kirsten Mae Arada, a Grade 11 student, with the voice of an angel shares her quarantine life. She recently composed her own song entitled “If Only You Knew”. Check it out for yourself in @kirs10.arada on her IGTV!


Staff: What does your day look like during quarantine?

Kirsten: Honestly, my day looks dull and is basically a repetitive cycle. I wake up, attend my classes, eat, spend time on my phone, eat again, then finally sleep.

Staff: Are there any hobbies you've gotten into during quarantine?

Kirsten: Because I enjoy singing, I've been posting covers of songs on my social media for a long time now, even before the quarantine. But now that I have so much time to think, I actually started to try to write my own songs.

Staff: Why do you enjoy it?

Kirsten: I enjoy songwriting because it is a way for me to express myself and my emotions and it's fun as well.

Staff: What would be your advice to the people who find it difficult to find a hobby?

Kirsten: My advice to the people who find it difficult to find a hobby would be to try new things that seem fun and don't be afraid of going out of your comfort zone when it comes to new hobbies.

 

2. Jade Matthew Durana

If there was an award for becoming the most creative person on Instagram, Jade Matthew Durana from the Grade 12 class would definitely win it! Every Instagram post of @jadedurana is no joke! It is a must-see!



Staff: What does your day look like during quarantine?

Jade: To be honest it felt like every day was like a cycle. The day repeats over and over again because the things I did the previous days repeat itself. Waking up in the morning, thinking of what to do, stuck at home, being isolated, and staying in the four corners of my room sums up my day.

Staff: Are there any hobbies you've gotten into during quarantine?

Jade: I actually found a new hobby wherein I do Home Photoshoots or self-portrait photography. I also have fun altering some of my clothes that I don't really wear, so that they have a new purpose. I enjoy working out as well to maintain a healthy body.

Staff: Why do you enjoy it?

Jade: I enjoy these hobbies, not only because it keeps me distracted and busy, but it hones my creative juices wherein my artistic and creative side is put to use. And it makes me happy to share it with other people and to my social media platforms to reach out and inspire others in some ways. I believe it kept me mentally, emotionally, and physically healthy at the state during these quarantine days.

Staff: What would be your advice to the people who find it difficult to find a hobby?

To the people who have difficulties to find a hobby, try out new things and explore what's around you or available with you. Or Think about things you already like doing and how you can develop or expand it more. There are limitless possibilities of hobbies out there that might interest you and enjoy doing.

 

3. Erchelle Jayrine Pagdilao

A Grade 8 student who has been confidently sharing his artwork on Instagram (@jayrine._.artistry). This is one good example of using social media as a student. Sharing your passion. Thank you Erchelle for your thoughts!



Staff: What does your day look like during quarantine?

Erchelle: I usually do my favorite things such as cooking, singing, and drawing. These are my hobbies that I’ve been doing during the quarantine. Cooking is also a hobby for me because whenever my parents are not home I usually do the cooking. Singing is my all-time hobby because every day & every night I sing my favorite songs. Lastly, I’ve been drawing during this quarantine. Through drawing, I was able to express what I feel like doing.

Staff: Are there any hobbies you've gotten into during quarantine?

Erchelle: Yes, there is one hobby that I’ve gotten into during quarantine. The hobby that I’ve been doing is drawing doodles & lettering in which I had more time to draw unlike before when we are traveling to school. I even created an art account on Instagram to post my drawings and to show the people what I’ve been doing during the quarantine.

Staff: Why do you enjoy it?

Erchelle: I enjoy drawing because it’s one of my talents and I don’t get bored when I’m drawing because it makes me feel happy. My artworks are mostly doodles in which I’ve found doodles easy for me to draw. I love drawing because I can express my feelings and emotions.

Staff: What would be your advice to the people who find it difficult to find a hobby?

Erchelle: My advice to the people who find it difficult to find a hobby is that don’t lose hope to find your hobby because a hobby is doing what you love. I would also recommend trying new cool things because maybe there will be a time that your hobby will come from there.

 

4. Jaymie Ann Domine

Jaymie Ann, a student from Grade 9, reminds us that self-love is what quarantine teaches us to do. She shares that hobbies come in handy especially during quarantine, because what else could we do when we were stuck at home?


Staff: What does your day look like during quarantine?

Jaymie: My days are great and wonderful. I read lots of online books, watch entertaining videos, and socialize with online friends through social media.

Staff: Are there any hobbies you've gotten into during quarantine?

Jaymie: The hobbies that I got into during quarantine are painting on wood, singing karaoke, trying new baking recipes, and focusing on taking care of myself with working out and doing yoga.

Staff: Why do you enjoy it?

Jaymie: I enjoy these hobbies because they make me happy and it is pleasurable. It helps me relieve stress and helps me learn to love myself even more which is important. It is rewarding and feels really good.

Staff: What would be your advice to the people who find it difficult to find a hobby?

Jaymie: My advice for people who find it difficult to find a hobby would be to find the things that you enjoy. Reclaim your childhood interests, take the time to improve your skills, and start trying new things.








163 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page