top of page

ONCE A PSGEAN, ALWAYS A PSGEAN!

Updated: Jun 23, 2020

By Anthony Kier Carbonel

“Intelligence plus character that is the goal of true education.” – Martin Luther King Jr.


Philippine Learning Center, Katipunan Philippine Cultural Academy, and now, the Philippine School in Greece. I’ve watched this institution transform and grow right before my eyes. I’ve seen the ups and downs this institution has gone through to get to where it is today. I myself have also had my fair share of ups and downs as a PSGean but that is what makes us humans. We scream on top of our lungs when we are at the peak of the mountain, we grieve when we crash the plane we are piloting but most importantly, we learn from the mistakes we commit as the wounds from our battles heal.


Upon receiving an e-mail from Michelle Kyle Balba, the editor-in-chief of PSG Chronicles about writing an article of my greatest achievements as a student at the Philippine School in Greece, the fondest of memories flashed in my head. From the most satisfying naps I took in Kindergarten to the finding of solutions for the hardest math problems in high school, I didn’t know exactly what to write about since I consider everything I’ve experienced as a PSGean as achievements. But if I really had to enumerate some of my most memorable moments in PSG, it would be a big honor for me.


From my Elementary years, I remember my mother and I going through every page of my school books every night and reviewing everything I have learned in the lectures of my teachers. My parents have always emphasized in my mind that education really is important in surviving the real and very weary world out there. Due to those studious nights with my mom and my realization of the significance of education in my life, my name has always been in the Honors list or the Crème de la crème. However, although rewarding, this does not define who I am. I strongly believe that grades are only a part of what makes a student successful. It is in the application of what he/she has learned in the real world and the values he/she has discovered during the process of learning are what make a student victorious.


Another big and salient moment in my student life was when I attended the YouLead cultural immersion organized by the Commission on Filipinos Overseas (CF0). In this summit, together with three other delegates from the Philippine School in Greece, we crossed waters, wandered where there was no WiFi, and travelled where cars could never reach. I consider this experience as an achievement because I discovered a new found meaning for life. Witnessing the living situations of those who are underprivileged made me realize that there are things in life that we think are essential but in reality, are just superficial luxuries. As a TCK or a Third-culture Kid, wherein I grew up in a culture different from my parents', this was life-changing for me since I felt like I reconnected with my roots and strengthened if not, rekindled my patriotism.


I still have a myriad momentous experiences in my PSG life but I do not want to get carried away and bore you my dear reader!


If you are a PSGean reading this, I would like to leave some pieces of advices to help you make the most out of your student life.


Do not settle for just okay. Challenge yourself because you’re greater than what you think you are. Mediocrity is not an option. Find something that will make you excited to leave your bed every morning.


Read. Yes, that’s it. Read, Comrehend and Act.


Appreciate your educators. Don’t forget to greet your teachers good morning and say thank you for the knowledge you have gained because at the end of the day, you go to school to learn and a huge chunk of what you learn come from them.


Use all of the colors in your crayon box as often as possible. Utilize all your talents and skills. Showcase them in the school activities. Your schoolmates, the world rather, deserves to get a glimpse of your shine, you star!


Mistakes are meant to be made. Learn from them, and then keep going. Stop beating

yourself up so much about your imperfections because it makes you perfect. They are what make you special!


Lastly,

ENJOY. You are glorious, you are young. Learning isn’t only about the essays and the tests, it is about enjoying every lunch break, every lecture, every bus ride with your classmates and peers.


PSG will always be in my heart. It has molded me to the Anthony I am today.


134 views1 comment

1 Comment


congrats kuya anthony🥺 proud kaming lahat sayo <3 good luck sa life

Like
bottom of page